Elephant Orphanage in Pinnawalla

2015-02-16
15:41:22

This Sunday I visited the Elephant Orphanage in Pinnawalla with Shehani and her friend Pabasara. We went by public bus which was my fist time, I have only travelled with the AC busses. But I can assure you that it was a bumpy ride!! On our way to Pinnawalla we had problem talking because of the sounds but on the other hand it was almost like a carousel all on a sudden you would fly up out of your seat because of the bumps in the road.  

 

 There have been discussions on TripAdvisor about the Elephant Orphanage in Pinnawalla, stating that the elephants look sad and that they are chained and so on. I first decided not to visit the place because of the statements on TripAdvisor but to create my own opinion I changed my mind. I do however not have the facts to make a clear statement about the place, but in my eyes it was clear that it is mainly a tourist attraction. Hence, elephants was chained or kept in small cages. There were also different thing that you were aloud to do if you paid a little more money. Such as, feeding the elephants ect. 

When I was in Tanzania I also visited an elephant orphanage but that orphanage was totally different in its approach and the way that they handled the elephants. Therefore, based on my two different experiences I do think that you should think twice before going, or at least have a critical view when you are there. 
 
 
 
But over all I really enjoyed my day at the orphanage with my friends! The elephants are truly beautiful, and I am so fascinated by the elephant's trunk!
 

And lastly! When you visit Sri Lanka you have to try Hot Butter Cattle Fish!!!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Linn

Låter som en väldigt mysig dag:)<3

2015-02-16 @ 15:51:10
Postat av: mikael lilja

Äventyr varje helg

2015-02-17 @ 06:05:29

Comment here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Bloggadress:

Comment:

RSS 2.0