Galle! At Petter and Linns place

2015-02-24
10:55:00

This weekend I got a lot of sunburn! I’m having problem walking in stairs due to the worst burn is located on the backside of my legs, especially behind the knees. How can this be you might wonder, did she only sunbathe her backside? What’s wrong with the girl!?

Express train from Colombo to Galle 06.00 in the morning, good way to travel to Galle! 180 Rs 

I’ll tell you..

This weekend I went to Galle and visited my friends Petter and Linn, and I was fortunate enough to visit simultaneously as Petter’s dad and younger sister.

 

As some of you might know both Petter and Linn have surfing as a way of life here in Sri Lanka and I got the opportunity to see their livelihood which was very inspirational and seems like such a good way of life, to do what you love and not being afraid to take chances to do it. Moreover, it is impossible to visit Petter and Linn without being motivated to learn how to surf, thereby my sunburn!. So, in Galle this weekend I officially started my surfing carrier! What a fantastic sport! I absolutely loved it! Very hard but a satisfactory way of exercising and having fun at the same time! Photos on this will come soon!

In the meanwhile here is some photos on Saturday dump-shopping! This is maybe not something a typical tourist would do, but something that made my stay in Galle even more special! Linn were looking fore some nice old, industrial-vibe furniture.   

 
 
We'll have to wait and see if they will by this yellow one, not enrirely sure on the name of the furniture but charming. But in the picture below are some of the bargains made! 
 
 
After the shopping tour we drove into Galle to see the Galle Fort. The Fort was first built by the Portuguese in 1588 before being extensively fortified by the Dutch in the mid 1600s. Recognized by UNESCO for its cultural heritage value, the Fort was declared a World Heritage Site in 1988 as a unique exposition of "an urban ensemble which illustrates the interaction of European architecture and South Asian traditions from the 16th to the 19th centuries". This is a very touristy place but still a place that you have to visit in Sri Lanka.!
 
 
Walking on the Fort wall.. 
 
 

 The visit ended in a cup of excellent coffee imported by Petter's dad! <3 and a litte bit of facebook ;) 

If you want to read more about Petter and Linns story then I would recommend you to visit their blog: http://sunshinestories.com


Kommentarer
Postat av: Nicky

The right URL adress is :

http://sunshinestories.com

2015-02-24 @ 11:00:01

Comment here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Bloggadress:

Comment:

RSS 2.0