Saree

2015-03-11
04:46:16
In the school of Royal International School Kurunegala all of the women in the staff are wearing beautiful Sarees in all different colours and striking patterns. The Saree is a common clothing in Sri Lanka and there are two common ways of draping the Saree; Indian style, Kandyan style. The Kandyan style is considered to be the national dress of Sinhalese women. This is because the city Kandy was the last capital of the Sinhala kings that enabled the Dinahala culture to flourish for more than 2,500 years until the occupation of Sri Lanka by the British in 1815. It is also where Buddha’s tooth is kept and therefore a famous pilgrimage site. 
In the picture I am wearing a Kandyan Saree. 
 

In the beginning of my stay I found the Saree very interesting and colourful piece of clothing. But as I have gotten to know some of the women wearing the Sarees, some that I am happy to call my friends, I found that it captures the pride and grace of a Sri Lankan woman. I could not help but admiring these traditional Sarees that my friends are wearing everyday in school but buying a Saree takes some effort which I have not had the time or knowledge to do. However, yesterday I got the fantastic opportunity to actually wear one! 

 
 
In the background you can see the beautiful Sarees of the women!
 
 
Me and Malika
 
 
Me and Shehani 
 
 
 
Doreen and me
 
So how did it feel to wear a Saree. 

I felt very graceful and I got a lot of compliments which was really fun. I am so grateful for being able to try one for a day!

But the Saree was very tight! I borrowed one from a girl that is thinner than me so therefore it felt like wearing a corset, I had to sit straight all day, so I guess it was good practice for my body figure. Although in the end of the day it was a relief to take it of.

I asked some of the women if it was supposed to feel like a corset or if it was because mine was a bit too small. Some of them said that the top that you are wearing has to be tight or it won’t look good.So, I am genuinely  impressed by these women who endure to wear a Saree each day. But some women said that a Saree in the right size is comfortable, and  after some time they become comfortable as well. Like buying really tight jeans that you almost can’t sit down in, that later becomes the most comfortable piece of clothing that you own. 

The next step in my Saree carrier is to buy one of my own and make sure that it is not soo small! and soon I'll look just like a Sri Lankan woman, you won't recognize me back home in Sweden ;) 

 


Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Så snygg du är

2015-03-11 @ 07:05:07
Postat av: Anonym

Snygg kommentaren var moster T ;)

2015-03-11 @ 07:07:52

Comment here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Bloggadress:

Comment:

RSS 2.0